A register of people trained to train dogs to avoid kiwi is being developed by Kiwis for kiwi, If you own a dog, use the list below to find out where training takes place nearest to you.

The list below provides names of people who are experienced with dogs and with running kiwi avoidance training.

We have a list of some of the upcoming dog avoidance training days here

It will help dog owners find the nearest training.

Over time, everyone on the list will be formally certified as a skilled avoidance trainer. This will ensure that wherever the training happens in New Zealand, we can be confident that the same standards are being consistently applied everywhere.

Avian avoidance dog certifiers

Practising and participating certifiers are listed below. If you are interested in getting your dog trained please contact any of the trainers or your local Department of Conservation office.

Please note training sessions are only scheduled in Te Urewera prior to the pig hunting season and not available on demand.

 

Certifier Certifier No. Phone Address Private DOC
Pete Graham) 1 027 4837 050 Northland *  
Glen Coulston 1a 027 290 9448 Northland *  
Lesley Baigent 2 09 408 7800 or 09 408 6014 email baigentsnz@gmail.com Far North *  
Jason Hanham and Wallis Cocks 3 021 872 476 jason.hanham@worksafe.govt.nz (Jason) 021 207 4719 walliscocks@xtra.co.nz (Wallis) Northland *  
James Mclaughlin 5 027 483 7050 (Clea) mclaughlinecoservices@outlook.com Dargaville *  
Brian Shields 7 kiwiaversion@aucklandcouncil.govt.nz 09 301 0101 Hunua *  
Liz Whitwell 9 06 869 5639 lwhitwell@doc.govt.nz Coromandel   *
Malcolm MacFarlane 10 027 235 8424 or 07 868 9912 or (DOC) 07 867 9080 Thames/ Coromandel *  
Christine Friis 11 07 867 9080 cfriis@doc.govt.nz Thames   *
Sheila Westley 021716514 avertmydog@projectkiwi.org.nz Kuaotunu *  
Peter Evans 12 07 856 4611 or 022 600 5783 pete@nzoutdoorexperiences.co.nz Waikato *  
Guus Knopers 13 027 5927 737 wildlifecontractorsnz@gmail.com Te Puke Western Bay of Plenty *  
Tiki Hutching 14 07 325 2142 027 809 8185 thutching@doc.govt.nz Opotiki/Whakatane   *
Andrew Glaser 15 07 315 1001 aglaser@doc.govt.nz Opotiki   *
Anthony Te Kurapa anthony@ngaituhoe.iwi.nz Whakatane/Taneatua/Te Urewera *  
Tim Allerby 19 07 312 9659 tim.a@ngaituhoe.iwi.nz Whakatane/Te Urewera *  
Te Kahu (Paddy) Apiata 33 07 312 9659 tekahu@ngaituhoe.iwi.nz Whakatane/Te Urewera *  
Tom Brown 027 391 4562 66waimana@gmail.com Whakatane/Te Urewera *  
Willie Marsh 21 06 376 5155 or 027 3858191 or 06 834 3111 (DOC Napier) Hawkes Bay/Manawatu *  
Daniel Hurley 4 027 552 0406 dphurley@xtra.co.nz Manawatu * *
Tai Edmonds 23 06 385 5022 (Pipiriki Office) 027 405 2186 tedmonds@doc.govt.nz Whanganui   *
Rod Smillie 24 06 349 2100 Whanganui   *
Paul Drought 34 06 759 0350 pdrought@doc.govt.nz 027 539 5752 Taranaki   *
Jared Coombes 35 06 759 0350 027 2159 199 jcoombes@doc.govt.nz Taranaki   *
Joe Carson 37 027 577 3869 jcarson@doc.govt.nz Taranaki    
Blake Cole 38 022 3422 191 blakejet@gmail.com Ohakune *  
Jim Pottinger (kiwi & penguins) 27 0212598299 or 07 8922691 hunter4hire@windowslive.com Central and Southern North Island *  
Jim Pottinger (kiwi & penguins) 27 c/- Rosemary Thompson 04 563 4764 021 044 3279 Wellington *  
Dean Flavell 28 0273604129 dean.flavell@xtra.co.nz Central North Island * *
Ian Cox (weka and kiwi) and William Knox 30 027 243 5592 icox@doc.govt.nz Bill Knox 027 637 7070 William.Knox@excellcorp.co.nz Marlborough/ Nelson/ Golden bay   *
Ross Connochie (Tasman District Council) 31 03 528 5375 ross.connochie@tasman.govt.nz Marlborough/ Nelson/ Golden bay *  
Rosemary Van der lee (penguin) 32 rosmary@janszoon.org 027 657 7202 Marlborough/ Nelson/ Golden bay * *
Lynne Maguire (kiwi, weka and blue penguin) 36 03 280 8688 wild4evakiwi@gmail.com West Coast *  
Sandra King 20 027 867 9011 or 03 219 0002 paws4conservation@kinect.co.nz Stewart Island *